What A Difference A Day Makes

  Yesterday I was completely fed up. I hadn’t heard from the college I applied for yet, making it less and less likely that I would get accepted in time to arrange visa. I was also stressed out because I had recently been rejected for an audition and didn’t have any interesting, new auditions lined up yet. Then almost all my friends

cancelled last minute for a clothing trade party I had organized and hadjust done about $30 worth of groceries for. To make matters more pleasant, I received an e-mail from the college notifying me that the documents I sent to prove my English proficiency weren’t correct and that I had to send new ones before June 20. Which was impossible. Unless I could figure out a way to teleport them or something.

Doom scenario’s started to form: I had given up my apartment and pretty much my whole life for about a year by working an office job to save up money, only to be rejected by the college. And then I went on to think that even if I did go to Los Angeles, I would probably not achieve anything there and I would die depressed in Holland, never having achieved my dreams, dogs eating away at me all Bridget Jones opening monologue like. But then it turned Friday (don’t get that Rebecca Black song in your head now!)…

So I wake up all gloomy and melodramatic, and then I open my e- mail only to see ACCEPTANCE in big caps! Within a single second I turn into a shiny ray of sunshine with a firm belief that there will be an Oscar in my hands within 5 years and that I will be a big millionaire and everyone I love will live in my house in LA and I will have 1.4 kids exactly when I want them. And they will have the most awesome hippie names.

There wasn’t too much time for my excitement though, since I had an audition for something vague in Amsterdam West within that hour. All I knew was that I was supposed to dance and play air-guitar with a bag over my head, and that the vague thingy would be shot in Miami. It was kind of fishy, but hey: it was gonna be shot in Miami.  Miami-Miami. Welcome-to-Miami-Will-Smith-Miami. When I got there it turned out to be for a commercial for a well-known supermarket chain, so not that fishy after all. And with my new bout of happiness, dancing and playing air guitar (baseball bat) with a helmet (they abandoned the bag idea) where everyone outside could see me, was no problem at all. To top it off, when I got to work afterwards I could finally say the words I have been longing to say the last half year: “I’m quitting my job.” And the day has only just begun!

Thanks for reading! If you enjoy this blog, please help spread the word by tweeting or Facebooking about it. Or sign up for free e-mail updates by entering your e-mail address in the upper right corner and clicking “I want to follow!”

10 Comments

Filed under Amsterdam

10 responses to “What A Difference A Day Makes

  1. Chris

    Gefeliciteerd! 🙂

  2. Victoria

    Congratulations!!!

    What College did you applu to?? Im applying for colleges and universities as well!!
    Cheers!

  3. arieevers

    heey ik heb een vraagje hoe krijg ik meer bezoekers op m’n blog??

    groetjes

  4. Rik

    Really happy for you!

  5. Olivia

    Congratulations, I am so happy for you! Good luck in LA, you’re so cool to be fighting for your dreams like this!

  6. Congratulations!!! And kudos to you for writing a very entertaining blog. 🙂

    Hope we can meet in LA someday, and maybe even act together! Hmmm . . . I could play the Mom character for your character! 😀

    Yes, I’m also curious which college you’ve been accepted to!

  7. Thalita

    Wow congratz!!! Ga je daar voorgoed wonen? Petje af hoor!

Leave a Reply

