Live from Los Angeles: A Video Message!

26 Comments

Filed under Los Angeles

26 responses to “Live from Los Angeles: A Video Message!

  1. helena mooi

    Onwijs leuk om je nu ook eens te horen praten! Over je spannende belevenissen te lezen is al een feest maar dit is super. Kan me voorstellen dat je A’dam mist maar heee, alles voor de toekomst toch? Ik wens j e heel veel succes en we volgen je hier vanaf de Hollandse zijlijn! YouregonnamakeitinAmericagirl! Thumbsup! Groetjes Helena en Janette Mooi

  2. Sanne // Mimi

    Heyhey! Ken je menog, x_stardust van twitter πŸ™‚
    Fijn dat je het naar je zin hebt!
    Ik hoop echt, echt dat het je lukt een ster te worden! πŸ˜€

    xx Mimi

  3. Dawn

    Wow, a videoblog! πŸ™‚ it was really great seeing you!
    I’m not really thinking of moving to LA (let alone aspiring in being an actress), but I find it interesting nonetheless, your blog is cool (so are you!).
    Never say never (about the moving to LA-part, haha!),

    wishing you lots of luck,
    Dawn

  4. Babs

    you’re exactly doing what I’m planning to do in 2 years (when I’m done with school and stuff) so these are a lot of tips etc.

  5. Hannah

    This was such a sweet idea! Loved it! I have a question:

    Once you find yourself an agent, will it be difficult to get a working visa from them?

    Thank you so much, all the best!

  6. Nice Video! But come on, There are lots of places in West LA you can walk. Venice Beach, Santa Monica over by the promenade (anywhere in Santa Monica for that matter), Marina del Rey… you’ll see. Just venture to these places, park your bike and walk your head off. πŸ˜›

    Glad you got yourself a nice abode, it’s gonna go a long way in you being happy and comfortable. Keep it up and see ya sometime November.

  7. Guus

    Hai,
    Ontzettend leuk je hier (en op Twitter) te kunnen volgen. Ik heb echt respect voor je moed en je doorzettingsvermogen. Je laat zien dat je met doorzettingsvermogen al behoorlijk ver kan komen. Ik blijf je (hier en op Twitter) volgen. Ik kijk uit naar je volgende bericht(en). Vanuit een zonondergaand Nederland wens ik je een fijne (zon)dag toe.

    Heel veel groeten,
    Guus(666)

  8. Anna

    You are so charming and your voice is so nice! I am reading your blog gor quite a long time and, how we all actors do, was imagining how you behave in real life, but you turned to be better than i’ve imagined! Good luck and don’t forget to show us your new headshots!)))

  9. Merel

    hi,
    it’s great to be able to follow you. (twitter)
    I also want to be an actress! you’re very entousiast.
    In the Christmas holiday I’ll go to LA to look at the AMDA, I really want to study there. I can stay some time with friends. But my parents think I’m too young I’m 17
    I want it very much. and I have perseverance

  10. Everyone thanks for the sweet comments! These comments are really what makes the blogging effort worth it! Good luck all!

  11. Anastasianna

    He! I have a tiny question. How did you get started in Holland? What casting agencies did you contact? Or did you just email the producers?

    You look fantastic btw!

  12. Nina

    Hi!
    Need your advice.
    Which monologues you choose for the auditions (if they don’t give you a text to read, but ask to prepare some monologues).
    Is it from popular movies or Shakespeare?
    Thank You so much))

  13. Hey there!

    I just found your Blog last night and love the way your write. You’re so witty, clever and funny.

    It’s nice to connect with a fellow actress who not only has big dreams, but also works very hard to achieve them. I read through your Blog and am so proud of all your accomplishments. It takes guts to dedicate yourself to a year of working to save up and then to move to another country all alone to pursue your dreams.

    We definitely have many things in common – we’re both in love with this career path, NOT from the US (which makes it harder to break in, I think) and around the same age. πŸ™‚

    I hope we can keep in touch!

    Talk soon,
    Toronto Actress

    • Hi, your blog is quite lovely as well! Spent quite a bit of time reading:)

      I would kill to do auditions in Canada, the auditions you get to go to are quite amazing. And you consider 2 auditions a slow month when in the Netherlands that is a busy month, haha! It would certainly be nice to keep in touch. Let me know if you ever visit LA! πŸ™‚

      • Toronto Actress

        Thanks! πŸ™‚ Did you get to read my US VISA post? Haha!

        I guess the grass is always greener. I hear about people in LA having two auditions in two hours! So it all depends where you are at. In Toronto, the competition is tough, the market is very saturated with girls my age so for me two auditions in a month isn’t very good. At the same time, I’m sure that in the Netherlands the market is even smaller so it’s even tougher.

        I’m thinking about taking a trip to LA in early November. The problem is that I know NO ONE there! Yikes!

        PS: I’m convinced we’re acting twins! Your passion for this totally reflects the way I feel about acting…And I also just got my degree in Psychology. πŸ™‚

  14. Merel

    HI, yes its very difficult, I’ll go in december to LA to look at the AMDA (actingschool) i can stay with some (Greek)friends for one week if u like to visit,
    you’re the only dutch girl I can talk hih, you can tell me how it is in the acting world Xx.

    xox

  15. Ellen

    Wow echt leuk om je verhaal te horen!!
    Ik vroeg me af, heb ej dat engels gewoon geleerd terwijl je daar was? Acteer je ook in het engels? heb je een agent? Hoe ben je zover gekomen dat je in een tv-serie speelt? Werk je ook ondertussen??
    groetjes Ellen avn HCF

  16. Hi,

    Great entry. Quick tip though – never EVER choose a scene from a famous film, where it has been done the Oscar-worthy way. That is an unwritten rule when it comes to being picked by an agent. Acting class, and first scene, is okay, however if you will ever do a workshop or get any other opportunity to perform in front of an agent – try to pick a scene of which the agent has no previous memory about, or at least not have been impressed before.

    Good luck!

  17. What studio do you take classes with?

  18. joan

    you are super cute and fresh and natural. stay that way! you don’t need to buy into the los angeles plasticity πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

